Independent School District #771 Chokio-Alberta Public School Official Minutes

Regular School Board Meeting

Tuesday, January 17, 2023 7:00 p.m. Chokio

The meeting was called to order by Mark Gibson at 7:00 p.m. followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Mark Gibson, Kurt Staples, Christina Pederson, Robyn Marty, Matt Westerman and Heidi Brethorst. Others present: Tate Jerome, Nick (Paper), Elizabeth Raths, Rachel Schott and Tom Schott.

Motion by Matt Westerman seconded by Kurt Staples to approve the agenda. **Motion Carried Unanimously (6-0).**

Oath of Office by newly elected member, Heidi Brethorst.

Election of Officers

Chairperson: Nomination of Mark Gibson by Kurt Staples. Seconded by

Robyn Marty. (Mark Gibson abstained)

Motion Carried Unanimously (5-0).

<u>Vice-Chair</u>: Nomination of Robyn Marty by Kurt Staples. Seconded by

Matt Westerman. (Robyn Marty abstained)

Motion Carried Unanimously (5-0).

<u>Clerk/Treasurer</u>: Nomination of Christina Pederson by Kurt Staples.

Seconded by Robyn Marty. (Christina Pederson abstained)

Motion Carried Unanimously (5-0).

Motion by Christina Pederson seconded by Robyn Marty to approve the date, time, and location for regular meetings as follows:

Date = 3^{rd} Monday (except January & February – 3rd Tuesday)

Time = 7:00 pm

Location = Chokio-Alberta School

Motion Carried Unanimously (6-0).

Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Matt Westerman to approve the Chokio Review as the official newspaper for the district.

Motion carried Unanimously (5-0). (Christina Pederson abstained)

Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Robyn Marty to approve Dacotah Bank as the Official Depository for the district.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0)

Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Heidi Brethorst to approve the IRS approved rate of reimbursement for mileage reimbursement (65.5 cents/mile).

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0)

Motion by Robyn Marty seconded by Christina Pederson to approve the Pay and Benefits for Board Members to be as follows: \$60 for chair and \$50 for all others per meeting.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0)

Motion by Matt Westerman seconded by Kurt Staples to approve the meal reimbursement rate for board members and district employees as follows: Legitimate Itemized Expense.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0)

Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Christina Pederson to approve the authorization of Supt Jerome and/or designee to complete wire transfers and make investments of district revenues.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

Motion by Christina Pederson seconded by Heidi Brethorst to approve establishing the Fixed Asset Threshold at \$5,000 –Policy #704.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Robyn Marty to approve the board committee assignments for 2023. See Attachment.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0)

Motion by Christina Pederson seconded by Matt Westerman to approve the regular meeting minutes from December 19, 2022.

Motion Carried Unanimously (6-0).

Motion by Robyn Marty seconded by Heidi Brethorst to approve the bills as presented \$39,183.68.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

Financial Report given by Tate Jerome

Personnel Items:

1. Motion by Kurt Staples seconded by Robyn Marty to approve the resignation of Para Professional Brandy Thompson.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

2. Motion by Matt Westerman seconded by Kurt Staples to approve hiring Paula Zimmerman as a part-time Para Professional at Step 3.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

No Public Comments

Motion by Christina Pederson seconded by Robyn Marty to approve resolution to require administration to make recommendations for reductions in programs and discontinuance of positions due to financial conditions and lack of pupils.

Motion carried Unanimously (6-0).

Administration Report: Report given by Tate Jerome

Board Report: No report given

No Other Business

| Motion by Robyn Marty seconded by | Matt Westerman to adjourn |
|-----------------------------------|---------------------------|
| Motion carried Unanimously (6-0). | |

Christina Pederson, Board Clerk